CAF Logo

Signature Event

2019 Ad Woman of the Year: Tina Manikas

5:30 pm - 6:30 pm
This is a past event

Thank you to everyone who came out to celebrate Tina Manikas! It was a magical evening as we heard from a number of peers and family members who all agreed Tina is the personification of PASSION. Those who took the stage included Dave Cleary of Microsoft, Kristian May Stewart of Ten35, Michael Fassnacht of FCB, Teddy Brown or FCB, Casey Nelson of Brown-Forman, Tina’s daughter, Pari Manikas, Arnett Morris with the Off The Street Club, Yvonne Furth, CAF’s 2005 Advertising Woman of the Year, and Joan Vivaldelli of Leo Burnett. 

Thank you to Chicago Mayor Lori Lightfoot who proclaimed November 7, 2019, Tina Manikas Day! Congratulations, Tina. View the night’s pictures and tag yourselves on our Facebook page.

Over the course of her career of 30+ years, Tina Manikas significantly helped raise, advance and set new standards for the advertising community. She was one of the first to pioneer integrated platform solutions and build shopper marketing as a capability, creating a practice in Chicago in 2000. Manikas then grew the practice into a new retail and commerce agency, FCB/RED. Under her leadership, FCB/RED has grown to become one of the most globally recognized and awarded agencies, earning accolades such as Cannes Lions, Effies, ANA REGGIES, ECHO Awards, WARC 100 and “Store of the Year” honors. A practice that started right here in America’s heartland, today has a presence in 10 select North American cities and a global reach extending to 120 offices in 80 countries.

“When we think of women of excellence in the advertising industry and leaders in innovation, we think of Tina Manikas. CAF is delighted to honor Tina as our 2019 Chicago Advertising Federation Ad Woman of the Year. She is the quintessential leader and is not only a fantastic businesswoman and leader in the industry, but also a kind, admired and highly regarded boss and coworker,” said Kim Theiss, President, Chicago Advertising Federation.

Call for 2020 Nominations Happening Now

The deadline to submit is Friday, October 30, 2020

Past Honorees

2019 Tina Manikas
2018  Esther Franklin
2017 Laurel Flatt
2016 Morgan Flatley
2015 Trish Chuipek
2014 Laura Desmond
2013 Susan Credle
2012 Jackie Woodward
2011 Lisa Donohue
2010 Nina Abnee
2009 Karen Sauder
2008 Lisa Cochrane
2007 Dolores Kunda
2006 Fay Ferguson
2005 Yvonne Furth
2004 Marlena Peleo-Lazar
2003 Carla R. Michelotti
2002 Renetta McCann
2001 Dana Anderson
2000 Linda Wolf
1999 Tonise Paul
1998 Andrea Murphy
1997 Cheryl Berman
1996 Carole Darr
1995 Jayne Z. Spittler
1994 Sally Tassani
1993 Karen Randolph
1992 Maureen Moore
1991 Shari Wall
1990 Susan Gillette
1989 Lynne E. O’Shea
1988 Sherren Leigh
1987 Helen C. Schubert
1986 Patricia A. Cafferata
1985 Mary Ann McCarthy
1984 Yolanda Brugaletta
1983 Marilyn S. Levey
1982 Elizabeth Nickels
1981 Susan Kryl
1980 Elizabeth Harrington
1979 Ruth Ratny
1978 Jane Ellen Murray
1977 Carol H. Williams
1976 Dixie Fortis
1975 Charlotte Beers
1974 Barbara Gardner Proctor
1973 Virginia Doetsch
1972 Mimi Rommel
1971 Marion Howington
1970 S. Joyce Turovlin
1969 Rosemary E. Anderson
1968 Lois Patrich
1967 Dorothy E. Demmy
1966 Myrtle Green
1965 Margaret Carson
1964 Helen A. Krupka
1963 Jean Simpson
1962 Prudence Walter Allured
1961 Alice Westbrook
1960 Frances Kennedy
1959 Lavinia S. Schwartz
1958 Gladys W. Blair

About the program

The Advertising Woman of the Year Award (AWOY) has recognized outstanding leadership by a Woman in the Chicago Marketing Community since 1958. The AWOY is one of the oldest and most prestigious annual awards celebrated by the Chicago Advertising Federation. The AWOY recipient is someone who has made meaningful contributions to the Advertising profession through the development of concepts, innovations, practices or methodologies. The individual has worked towards increasing the stature and raising the standards of the advertising profession and contributed to the growth and development of others in the industry through professional, civic, and community activities.

Stay inspired, current and connected.

Become a member today and take advantage
of all the benefits of CAF.

Become a member